Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here


October 28, 2007

Kurt Schork awards honour murdered Iraqi journalist and German investigative reporter

For the second year in a row, the Kurt Schork Memorial Awards have honoured a journalist killed in Iraq because of critical reporting. Sahar al-Haideri, a mother of four and contributor to the Institute for War and Peace Reporting (IWPR) as well as Iraqi media, was gunned down in June in Mosul after receiving death threats for a series of campaigning stories highlighting the influence of religious extremists, especially in curtailing the rights of women. Al-Haideri, 44, has received the 2007... MORE
August 25, 2007

Egyptian blogger, Burmese reporter win Knight International Journalism Award

Egyptian blogger Wael Abbas and Burmese investigative reporter May Thingyan Hein have been named the 2007 Knight International Journalism Award winners by the International Centre for Journalists (ICFJ). They will be honoured along with Founders Award recipient Tom Brokaw at the 10th annual ICFJ Awards Dinner at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Centre in Washington DC on November 13. The dinner also will feature Keynote Speaker Bob Woodruff and Master of Ceremonies George... MORE
August 22, 2007

Applications invited for 'International Award for Freedom of Speech'

The Marseille-Provence-Alpes du Sud Press Society is organising the International Award for Freedom of Speech. It will reward a leading article, coverage, survey or interview conveying a free and independent vision. Award amount : 5 000 Euros Every year around the world, many journalists disappear. Some of them have been abducted, imprisoned, tortured or simply shot down. The only crime they have committed is doing their job, being on the spot where the story takes place, investigating and... MORE
August 1, 2007

P Sainath gets Magsaysay Award

Indian journalist Palagummi Sainath has been named as one of the seven winners of the 2007 Ramon Magsaysay Awards in recognition of his passionate reporting about the condition of India's rural poor. "In electing Palagummi Sainath to receive the 2007 Ramon Magsaysay Award for Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts, the board of trustees recognises his passionate commitment as a journalist to restore the rural poor to India's consciousness, moving the nation to action," the... MORE
July 16, 2007

CNN-IBN journos win 4 Ramnath Goenka Awards

New Delhi: CNN-IBN has added yet another feather in its cap. The channel won four of the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism awards on Monday. While Nilanjana Bose won the award in the ‘Uncovering India Invisible’ category, Bahar Dutt won the ‘Excellence in Environmental Reporting’ award. CNN-IBN’s Special Investigation Team won the excellence in political reporting award. The channel's editor-in-chief Rajdeep Sardesai has been adjudged the Journalist of the Year. CNN-IBN's sister concern,... MORE
July 4, 2007

Online journalist, BBC's Johnston win Amnesty human rights award

Amnesty International has presented its special award for Human Rights Journalism Under Threat to Dina Meza - an investigative journalist who works for monthly e-magazine in Honduras. At its annual awards ceremony earlier tonight, Dina Mesa was given the award for continuing to work in danger as a result of her human rights journalism. Ms Meza and her team of journalists have been subjected to a campaign of death threats, physical harassment, legal action and defamation after... MORE
June 4, 2007

Golden Pen of Freedom awarded to jailed Chinese journalist

A Chinese journalist serving a 10-year prison sentence for revealing his government’s orders to newspapers to censor their reporting of the Tiananmen Square massacre anniversary, has been awarded the 2007 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize from the World Association of Newspapers (WAN). The award to Shi Tao, who was imprisoned after the American search engine company Yahoo provided information to the Chinese authorities that led to his arrest, was made today, June 4, the 18th... MORE
May 21, 2007

Nominations open for CJFE international journalism awards

Journalists who have made a raised awareness of issues related to human rights or press freedom violations are eligible to be nominated for one of two awards organized by the Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE). Nomination deadline: June 20. The International Press Freedom Award will be presented to a journalist or media organization that has demonstrated a significant commitment to human rights and overcome enormous odds in their quest for news. Nominees should not have won a major... MORE
May 5, 2007

Free Media Pioneer for Burmese news agency

Mizzima News Agency has been awarded the 2007 Free Media Pioneer Award by the International Press Institute (IPI), the global network of editors, media executives and leading journalists. Managing Editor Sein Win will receive the prize on behalf of Mizzima at an award ceremony on May 15 during the IPI World Congress in Istanbul, Turkey (May 12-15, 2007). Mizzima News was founded in August 1998 by a small group of Burmese journalists in exile with the declared aim of "promoting awareness about... MORE
April 16, 2007

Pulitzer prizes for journalism awarded

April 16 (Bloomberg) -- The Wall Street Journal won the Pulitzer Prize gold medal for Public Service today for its reports on the scandal surrounding corporate executives' backdated stock options. It was one of two Pulitzers for the Journal. The newspaper was also awarded the prize for international reporting for its look at the impact of Chinese capitalism. The 91st annual prizes for excellence in journalism were awarded by the Columbia University School of Journalism in New York City. Judges... MORE