Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here


December 15, 2008

Gebran Tueni Award given to Egyptian editor Ibrahim Eissa at Arab Free Press Forum

Ibrahim Eissa, editor-in-chief of Egypt’s Al-Dustour newspaper, has been awarded the 2008 Gebran Tueni Award, the annual prize of the World Association of Newspapers (WAN) that honours an editor or publisher in the Arab region. The prize, which is made in memory of Gebran Tueni, the Lebanese publisher and WAN Board Member who was killed by a car bomb in Beirut on December 12, 2005, was presented during a ceremony Saturday in recognition of Eissa’s commitment to freedom of the press, his courage... MORE
December 9, 2008

Pulitzer Board changes rules to allow news organisations that publish only online

The Pulitzer Prizes in journalism, which honour the work of American newspapers appearing in print, have been expanded to include many text-based newspapers and news organisations that publish only on the Internet, the Pulitzer Prize Board has announced. The Board also has decided to allow entries made up entirely of online content to be submitted in all 14 Pulitzer journalism categories. While broadening the competition, the Board stressed on Monday that all entered material—whether online or... MORE
December 8, 2008

Slovenian journalist and writer Spomenka Hribar to receive SEEMO human rights award

The 2008 SEEMO Award for Human Rights has been awarded to Slovenian journalist, writer and human rights advocate Spomenka Hribar. The award is given by the Vienna-based South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO), a network of editors, media executives and leading journalists in South East Europe and an affiliate of the International Press Institute (IPI). Hribar received much publicity in the 1980s with her essay 'The Guilt and the Sin', which critically exposed the post-war liquidation of... MORE
December 8, 2008

Freedom House leader awarded WPFC's first annual press freedom advocacy prize

The World Press Freedom Committee (WPFC) has created an annual award for press freedom champions, the Dana Bullen Press Freedom Advocacy Prize, in honour of the organisation's first Executive Director. The committee also announced that the first prize would be bestowed on veteran free press activist Leonard R Sussman, Senior Scholar of Freedom House and its Executive Director for 21 years (1967-88), during which he created that organisation's annual press freedom survey, now seen as the... MORE
December 5, 2008

Cuban journalist, North Korean radio station and two Burmese bloggers win RSF Prize

Cuban journalist Ricardo González Alfonso has been chosen by Reporters sans Frontières (RSF) as “2008 Journalist of the Year” for helping an independent press to survive in Cuba. After challenging the state’s monopoly of news and information, González was arrested on March 18, 2003 along with 26 other dissident journalists during the crackdown known as the “Black Spring.” Accused of being “in the pay of the United States” and “undermining Cuba’s independence and territorial integrity,” he was... MORE
December 3, 2008

Outspoken Egyptian journalist Ibrahim Eissa wins Gebran Tueni Award for 2008

Ibrahim Eissa, editor-in-chief of Al Dustour , the daily newspaper in Egypt, has been awarded the 2008 Gebran Tueni Award, the annual prize of the World Association of Newspapers (WAN) that honours an editor or publisher in the Arab region. The prize, which is made in memory of Gebran Tueni, the Lebanese publisher and WAN Board Member who was killed by a car bomb in Beirut in December 2005, recognises Essa’s commitment to freedom of the press, his courage, leadership, ambition and high... MORE
October 24, 2008

International Press Freedom Award for former Guantanamo detainee Sami al-Haj

Sami al-Haj of Sudan and Shakeman Mugari of Zimbabwe have been awarded the 2008 International Press Freedom Awards for extraordinary courage and overcoming tremendous odds to report the news. The Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE), which gives away these awards, has also decided to acknowledge Jim Poling of Canada with the Vox Libera Award for his long-standing commitment to freedom of the press. "This year we honour three journalists who have never compromised their principles and... MORE
October 24, 2008

Kurt Schork awards for Ghanaian undercover reporter, US freelancer deported from Pakistan

Ghanaian journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas and US freelancer Nicholas Schmidle have been named the winners of the 7th annual Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism. Anas and Schmidle beat dozens of other reporters around the world with their entries selected by a panel of international judges which included Ben Brown BBC TV Special Correspondent, Christina Lamb of the Sunday Times, Roy Greenslade of the Guardian and celebrated editor of the Irrawaddy magazine, Aung Zaw. The judges found... MORE
October 22, 2008

Women's media foundation honours journalists for their work in dangerous situations

Four newswomen from Afghanistan, Myanmar, Cyprus and the United States have been honoured by an international journalism group for their work in difficult and dangerous situations that sometimes include risking their lives to tell a story. Aye Aye Win, a correspondent for the Associated Press (AP) in Burma, was one of three women to receive Courage in Journalism Awards from the International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF) in New York on Tuesday, along with Farida Nekzad, managing editor of... MORE
June 19, 2008

IPI honours Talking Points Memo with 2008 Free Media Pioneer Award

New York-based political blog Talking Points Memo (TPM) has been honoured with the 2008 IPI Free Media Pioneer award. David Kurtz, Managing Editor of Talking Points Memo, received the prize on behalf of TPM at the award ceremony in Belgrade on June 17. Created and run by the U.S. journalist, Joshua Micah Marshall, Talking Points Media ( ) is the flagship blog of TPM Media, a network of sites that includes TPMmuckraker, TPMCafe, and TPM Election Central. Marshall... MORE