Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here


June 19, 2008

Palestinian cartoonist awarded CRNI's 2008 Courage in Editorial Cartooning Award

Cartoonists Rights Network International has announced the winner of its 2008 Courage in Editorial Cartooning Award: Bahaa Boukhari, a Palestinian. CRNI, the only international organisation devoted to defending the human rights of cartoonists imperiled because of their work, will present the award to Boukhari at its annual dinner on June 26. The dinner is to be held at the Hotel Contessa in San Antonio, Texas. A group of cartoonists deemed the Courage in Editorial Cartooning Award the "Nobel... MORE
June 5, 2008

Somalia: Beleaguered journalists recognised for courage

Three Somali journalists have been awarded the prestigious Hellmann/Hammett award in recognition for their journalism while risking their lives and suffering terrible hardships in the midst of Somalia’s worsening armed conflict. Abdullahi Mohammed Hassan, founder of the Ayaamaha newspaper; Mohamed Amiin Sheik Adow, of Radio Shebelle; and Abdi Dhaqane Ciye, a cameraman for HornAfrik media, were among the 34 Hellmann/Hammett grants awarded worldwide in 2008. Both Amiin and Hassan fled Somalia in... MORE
June 3, 2008

Golden Pen of Freedom awarded to Chinese journalist Li Chongqing

A Chinese journalist who went to prison for reporting on a health threat before Chinese authorities announced it has been awarded the 2008 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize of the World Association of Newspapers (WAN). The award to Li Chongqing, who was released from prison in February after serving three years for reporting on an outbreak of dengue fever, marked the second consecutive year that the annual award has gone to a Chinese journalist. It was the first time since... MORE
May 9, 2008

Cuban blogger receives Spanish award in absentia

A young Cuban dissident has been given a prestigious Spanish journalism award for using a blog to overcome the limits to free expression in her country, says a BBC News report. Yoani Sanchez has received the Ortega y Gasset Prize in digital journalism for her blog, called Generation Y. Cuban authorities did not approve Yoani Sanchez's request to travel to Madrid for the award ceremony. Cuban essayist Ernesto Hernandez Busto accepted on her behalf. The prize is given each year by Spain's El Pais... MORE
April 10, 2008

UN press freedom prize goes to crusading Mexican journalist Lydia Cacho

A Mexican reporter who has been a target of death threats, sabotage and police harassment because of her work uncovering prostitution and child pornography networks was Wednesday designated the laureate of a press freedom prize by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). The Director-General of UNESCO, Koïchiro Matsuura, will award the Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize to Lydia Cacho Ribeiro in a ceremony to be held on World Press Freedom Day, May 3... MORE
April 1, 2008

Chameli Devi Award given away

The Chameli Devi Jain Award 2007-08 for Outstanding Woman Mediaperson has been bestowed upon Rupashree Nanda for her journalistic compassion, courage, and innovative style. Nanda, an investigative reporter with CNN-IBN was the top contender among a host of senior women journalists, all of whom have been appreciated for their contribution to Indian journalism. The award, which is given by by the Media Foundation, was presented by former Prime Minister IK Gujral at a function in New Delhi on... MORE
March 27, 2008

CNN-IBN's Rupashree Nanda wins Chameli Devi Award

CNN-IBN's Rupashree Nanda has been given the Chameli Devi Award for Outstanding Woman Mediaperson for 2007. Rupashree was selected from a field of 20 entries from all over the country. The jury consisting of Alok Mehta, Editor, Outlook and President of the Editors Guild of India, Sachidananda Murthy, Editor of the Week and Secretary General of the Guild, and Coomi Kapoor, Contributing Editor, the Indian Express . The award, which is given by by the Media Foundation, will be presented on March... MORE
February 13, 2008

World Young Reader Prize to focus on newspapers and literacy

The World Association of Newspapers (WAN) has created a new category in its 2008 World Young Reader Prize awards to encourage the use of newspapers to help people learn to read. The Newspapers & Literacy award will honour a project that helps improve basic reading and writing skills. Projects can target a wide variety of audiences, including parents, families, immigrant populations and young people in or outside of schools. The World Young Reader Prizes, sponsored by the international paper... MORE
December 10, 2007

Lebanese journalist wins Arab newspaper award

Michel Hajji Georgiou, a senior political analyst at the French-language daily L’Orient-Le Jour in Lebanon, has been awarded the 2007 Gebran Tueni Award, the annual prize from the World Association of Newspapers (WAN) that honours an editor or publisher in the Arab region. Georgiou, who is a member of the newspaper’s editorial board and chief of its yearly political supplement, received the award Sunday December 9 during the opening ceremony of the 2nd Arab Free Press Forum in Beirut, Lebanon,... MORE
October 28, 2007

Women journalists awarded for courageous reporting

Six women who risked their lives reporting in Iraq, a Mexican reporter who faced death threats for her reporting on paedophiles, and an Ethiopian journalist who was charged with treason have received awards for courage from the International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF). ABC News' Bob Woodruff, who was nearly killed in a January 2006 bombing in Iraq, presented the award to the Iraqi women for their work in the McClatchy news organisation's Baghdad bureau. The recipients were Sahar Issa, Huda... MORE