Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here


December 3, 2009

Press freedom prize awarded to Israeli reporter and Chechen magazine

The 2009 Reporters sans Frontières (RSF) - Fnac Press Freedom Prize was awarded Tuesday to Israeli newspaper reporter Amira Hass and Chechen quarterly Dosh at a ceremony hosted by journalist Bernard de La Villardière at the Espace Fondation EDF in Paris. “In a world dominated by lies that are organised and manipulated, the RSF - Fnac Prize winners deserve our recognition and solidarity not only because they seek the truth, sometimes at risk to their lives, but also and above all because they... MORE
December 1, 2009

Pakistan editor receives WAN-IFRA Golden Pen of Freedom

Najam Sethi, the former Editor-in-Chief of the Daily Times in Pakistan, has been awarded the 2009 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA). In accepting the Golden Pen, Sethi said the award "reflects the fierce commitment and courage of South Asia’s free media to the perennial quest for reporting the truth and analyzing it without fear or favour." Sethi, known as an advocate of liberal and secular ideas in a... MORE
October 6, 2009

CPJ receives Dodd human rights prize

The New York-based Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) was honored Monday with the fourth biennial Thomas J Dodd Prize in International Justice and Human Rights. The $75,000 prize is given "to an individual or group who has made a significant effort to advance the cause of international justice and global human rights." CPJ was selected for the prize by a committee representing the University of Connecticut, the advisory board of the Thomas J Dodd Research Centre, and representatives of the... MORE
September 28, 2009

World Young Reader Prizes: Young people do read newspapers

Zero Hora of Brazil and Express & Echo of the United Kingdom were presented with World Young Reader Newspapers of the Year awards Monday at the annual competition organised by the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA). The awards, which honours innovative newspapers with the best projects to attract young readers, were presented at the 8th World Young Reader Conference in Prague, Czech Republic. Awards were also presented in six categories: branding, public service... MORE
August 9, 2009

Brazilian newspaper with astonishing following among the young gets WAN prize for excellence

Zero Hora of Brazil and Express & Echo of the United Kingdom have been named World Young Reader Newspapers of the Year for two vital kinds of excellence in the annual competition organised by the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishing (WAN-IFRA). The awards are part of WAN-IFRA’s annual World Young Reader Prize competition, which honours innovative newspapers that have devised the best project or activity to attract young readers. The awards are made in six categories: branding... MORE
August 5, 2009

Newspaper run entirely by 'low-caste', rural women in Uttar Pradesh wins UNESCO literacy award

It was a project doomed to failure: a newspaper written, produced and sold by poor, “low-caste,” rural and barely literate women – in a local language. Now, it has won international recognition through the award of the 2009 UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize. Khabar Lahariya (the name means “News Waves”) was launched in May 2002 and today the 8-page fortnightly newspaper, published in local language Bundeli, is a thriving and respected concern with a readership of over 25,000 in more than 400... MORE
June 8, 2009

Palestinian centre wins award of Press Emblem Campaign (PEC)

The Palestinian Centre for Development and Media Freedoms (MADA) has been awarded by the Press Emblem Campaign (PEC) for its role in defending media freedoms in the occupied Palestinian territories. The Geneva-based Press Emblem Campaign (PEC) has announced on June 4 the selection of MADA and the Ambassador of Mexico to the United Nations in Geneva for the first prize. It has confirmed in its statement that the award goes equally between MADA and the Mexican ambassador Luis Alfonso Dalba, for... MORE
May 19, 2009

IWMF announces winners of 2009 Courage Awards

A Belarusian journalist who is frequently detained and subjected to all-night interrogations by police, a Cameroonian radio journalist whose broadcasts on human rights and press freedom have put her life at risk and an Iranian journalist whose reports about sensitive social and political issues have led to multiple arrests are recipients of this year’s International Women’s Media Foundation’s Courage in Journalism Awards. “These remarkable journalists have chosen to report the news in three... MORE
March 27, 2009

Roland Berger Human Dignity Award goes to RSF and Shirin Ebadi

Reporters sans Frontières (RSF) and Iranian human rights lawyer Shirin Ebadi, a Nobel peace laureate, have been chosen as the winners of this year’s Roland Berger Human Dignity Award. This prize is awarded by the Munich-based Roland Berger Foundation (Roland Berger Stiftung), which was founded in 2008 by Roland Berger, emeritus professor of business administration and management consulting also founder and chairman of Roland Berger Strategy Consultants. This is the second year the Foundation... MORE
December 15, 2008

Pakistan editor Najam Sethi awarded Golden Pen of Freedom prize by WAN

Najam Sethi, editor-in-chief of Friday Times and Daily Times in Pakistan, has been awarded the 2009 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize of the World Association of Newspapers (WAN). Sethi, whose newspapers advocate liberal and secular ideas in a country too-often torn by religious extremism, was honoured for his outstanding defence and promotion of press freedom under difficult circumstances and constant personal danger. Due to the editorial policies of the newspapers, which... MORE