Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here

Wage boards for journalists, non-journalists notified

NEW DELHI: The Government on Monday issued the formal notification for constitution of wage boards for journalists and non-journalists of newspapers and news agencies.

The two wage boards would be chaired by the former judge of the Kerala High Court, Justice K. Narayana Kurup, and would have 10 members each representing the employers, the working journalists and the non-journalists.

As per the notification, employers would be represented in both the wage boards by Naresh Mohan (Indian Newspaper Society), Gurinder Singh (All-India Small and Medium Newspapers Federation) and Prataprai Tarachand Shah (Indian Language Newspaper Association).

In the wage board for journalists, the employees will be represented by Suresh Akhouri (Indian Journalists Union), Nand Kishore Trikha (National Union of Journalists-India) and K. Vikram Rao (Indian Federation of Working Journalists).

The non-journalists would be represented by Madan Phadnis (All-India Newspaper Employees Federation), M. S. Yadav (Federation of PTI Employees’ Unions) and Uma Shankar Mishra (National Federation of Newspaper Employees).

The former Labour Secretary, K. M. Sahni, B. P. Singh and P. N. Prasanna Kumar would be independent members of the two wage boards, the notification said.

The notification, dated May 24, said the Central Government constituted the wage boards “for the purpose of fixing or revising rates of wages'’ in respect of working journalists and non-journalists in accordance with the provision of the Working Journalists and Other Newspaper Employees (Conditions of Services) and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1955.

Date posted: May 29, 2007 Last modified: May 23, 2018 Total views: 517