Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here

NE Newspaper Society formed

GUWAHATI, March 21 – North East Newspaper Society, an organization of the owners of the newspapers of the North East region has been formed today to promote and protect the interests of the newspaper industry in the region.

An executive committee of the Society has also been formed with Kanaksen Deka of Agradoot as president, PG Baruah of The Assam Tribune group as vice president and GL Agarwala of GL Publication as the general secretary. Subrata Sarma of Janambhumi group and Jayanta Baruah of Asomiya Pratidin are the joint secretaries of the society, while, Monoj Goswami of Dainik Janasadharan, AK Pansari of Purbudoi, Anjan Dutta of Ajir Dainik Batori and Mayur Talukdar of Asomiya Khabar are the executive members.

The Society in a release, said that the owners of the daily newspapers of the region would be taken into the society as members.

Date posted: March 22, 2007 Last modified: May 23, 2018 Total views: 941