Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here


December 17, 2009

Imprisoned Iranian journalist awarded Golden Pen of Freedom

Ahmad Zeid-Abadi, an Iranian journalist and political analyst who was imprisoned following Iran’s disputed presidential election in June, has been awarded the 2010 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA). Zeid-Abadi is known for an open letter he wrote from prison in 2000 protesting the judiciary’s treatment of imprisoned journalists. The letter was widely distributed despite attempts by authorities to suppress... MORE
December 10, 2009

Journalist Dawit Isaak still in prison after more than eight years

The time that Swedish-Eritrean journalist Dawit Isaak has spent in a jail in Eritrea, without a trial and without any visits from his family or lawyers, on Thursday reached 3,000 days. “It is a disgrace that he remains in prison and it is remarkable that the Swedish government does not try harder to get him released,” said Jesper Bengtsson, president of the Swedish section of Reporters Sans Frontières (RSF), and RSF Secretary-General Jean-François Julliard. “Sweden should urge the European... MORE
December 10, 2009

Iraqi journalist wins Gebran Tueni Award

Asos Hardi, the Editor-in-Chief and founder of the Awene newspaper in Iraqi Kurdistan, has been awarded the 2009 Gebran Tueni Award, the annual prize of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) that honours an editor or publisher from the Arab region. Hardi, who has gained a reputation as a newspaperman with exceptional leadership skills and high professional standards in a country where the media face great difficulties, will receive the award in a ceremony in Beirut... MORE
December 3, 2009

Press freedom prize awarded to Israeli reporter and Chechen magazine

The 2009 Reporters sans Frontières (RSF) - Fnac Press Freedom Prize was awarded Tuesday to Israeli newspaper reporter Amira Hass and Chechen quarterly Dosh at a ceremony hosted by journalist Bernard de La Villardière at the Espace Fondation EDF in Paris. “In a world dominated by lies that are organised and manipulated, the RSF - Fnac Prize winners deserve our recognition and solidarity not only because they seek the truth, sometimes at risk to their lives, but also and above all because they... MORE
December 1, 2009

Pakistan editor receives WAN-IFRA Golden Pen of Freedom

Najam Sethi, the former Editor-in-Chief of the Daily Times in Pakistan, has been awarded the 2009 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA). In accepting the Golden Pen, Sethi said the award "reflects the fierce commitment and courage of South Asia’s free media to the perennial quest for reporting the truth and analyzing it without fear or favour." Sethi, known as an advocate of liberal and secular ideas in a... MORE
March 27, 2009

Roland Berger Human Dignity Award goes to RSF and Shirin Ebadi

Reporters sans Frontières (RSF) and Iranian human rights lawyer Shirin Ebadi, a Nobel peace laureate, have been chosen as the winners of this year’s Roland Berger Human Dignity Award. This prize is awarded by the Munich-based Roland Berger Foundation (Roland Berger Stiftung), which was founded in 2008 by Roland Berger, emeritus professor of business administration and management consulting also founder and chairman of Roland Berger Strategy Consultants. This is the second year the Foundation... MORE
January 14, 2009

Washington Post names Elizabeth Spayd, Raju Narisetti as new managing editors

The Washington Post named has two new managing editors with joint responsibility for its print and online editions, the paper reported. Elizabeth Spayd, 50, editor of, and Raju Narisetti, 42, founder editor of Indian newspaper Mint and former deputy managing editor of the Wall Street Journal , will report to Post executive editor Marcus Brauchli. In a statement, the newspaper said that Spayd and Narisetti "will lead the integration of the Post's print and online newsrooms"... MORE
January 8, 2009

Brazilian journalist and newspaper win in lawsuits brought against them by church

Every lawsuit that has been brought by members of the Universal Church against journalist Elvira Lobato, who works for the Folha de São Paulo newspaper, has thus far been won by the journalist, the ssociação Brasileira de Jornalismo Investigativo (ABRAJI) has reported. Winner of the 2008 Esso Journalism Award, the most important prize given to Brazilian news people, the reporter was targeted with a series of legal complaints for her report, 'The Universal completes thirty years as a business... MORE
January 6, 2009

Washington Post managing editor stepping down after four years

Philip Bennett, the Washington Post's managing editor, is stepping down this week after four years as the paper's second-ranking news executive, the paper reported. Bennett was a candidate to be executive editor after Leonard Downie Jr announced that he was leaving last spring after 17 years in the job. But in July, Post publisher Katharine Weymouth chose Brauchli, less than three months after Rupert Murdoch had forced him out as editor of the Wall Street Journal . Weymouth and Brauchli had... MORE
December 15, 2008

Pakistan editor Najam Sethi awarded Golden Pen of Freedom prize by WAN

Najam Sethi, editor-in-chief of Friday Times and Daily Times in Pakistan, has been awarded the 2009 Golden Pen of Freedom, the annual press freedom prize of the World Association of Newspapers (WAN). Sethi, whose newspapers advocate liberal and secular ideas in a country too-often torn by religious extremism, was honoured for his outstanding defence and promotion of press freedom under difficult circumstances and constant personal danger. Due to the editorial policies of the newspapers, which... MORE