Newswatch | Newswatch

You are here

ARCHIVES: Organisations

May 5, 2007

Free Media Pioneer for Burmese news agency

Mizzima News Agency has been awarded the 2007 Free Media Pioneer Award by the International Press Institute (IPI), the global network of editors, media executives and leading journalists. Managing Editor Sein Win will receive the prize on behalf of Mizzima at an award ceremony on May 15 during the IPI World Congress in Istanbul, Turkey (May 12-15, 2007). Mizzima News was founded in August 1998 by a small group of Burmese journalists in exile with the declared aim of "promoting awareness about... MORE
April 10, 2007

World Press Institute to close down as newspaper funds run out

The World Press Institute (WPI), which trained journalists from around the world about the role and responsibilities of a free press for 46 years, is shutting down, the victim of dwindling financial support from American news organisations. "This is a sad development," the institute's board chairman, Howard Tyner, said in a statement on the institute's website. "But in the short term at least, there was no other way to go. Our special committee will be doing everything possible in the coming... MORE
March 22, 2007

NE Newspaper Society formed

GUWAHATI, March 21 – North East Newspaper Society, an organization of the owners of the newspapers of the North East region has been formed today to promote and protect the interests of the newspaper industry in the region. An executive committee of the Society has also been formed with Kanaksen Deka of Agradoot as president, PG Baruah of The Assam Tribune group as vice president and GL Agarwala of GL Publication as the general secretary. Subrata Sarma of Janambhumi group and Jayanta Baruah of... MORE
June 8, 2006

O'Reilly is WAN president for second term

Gavin O'Reilly, the Chief Operating Officer of Ireland-based Independent News & Media PLC, has been re-elected President of the World Association of Newspapers for a second two-year term. Fred Arp, Chief Financial Officer of the Telegraaf Media Group in the Netherlands, was re-elected Treasurer of WAN. MAN ON TOP: Gavin O'Reilly was appointed Group Chief Operating Officer of Independent News & Media PLC in December 2001. He joined the international media group back in 1993 and has held... MORE
June 8, 2006

CPJ’s Cooper quits to run Columbia J-school broadcast dept

NEW YORK: Ann Cooper, the executive director of the Committee to Protect Journalists, is leaving the organization to run the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism’s broadcast department, according to a memo from CPJ chair Paul Steiger. The memo, first posted on the Romenesko Web site Wednesday, says Cooper will keep the CPJ post she has held for eight years until the end of June. “CPJ’s very strong staff remains in place, and will continue its first-rate work in defense of press... MORE